The incredible shrinking me might mean a faster, leaner me too

Since the new year, I have been eating better.  By eating better, I mean REALLY eating well.  Many years ago I was a competitive Judo athlete. I was in my early 20s. I was training almost every day. I has a very serious, regimented diet. I was the worst person to try and hang out with, because I ate only ‘good’ foods. I didn’t know then anywhere near the amount of nutrition information that I do now, but I never ate junk food, never drank soda or alcohol and rarely ate fatty foods. The fun and carefree lifestyle of a 20 year old? Hardly. But it was fuel. I put me on the mat. I won a lot more than I lost.

Fast forward more than 10 years and you would find a guy who looks similar, but isn’t exercising, is drinking wine and beer a lot, remembers Judo, but rarely goes back to it. Oh, and has gained about 70lbs.  But this isn’t about Judo, it’s about cycling. 

A few years ago, I got back in to cycling, and riding. Over the past 3 years, I have been riding regularly, and as time goes by, riding more and more. Fast forward to last year and you find a guy who is a pretty reasonable cyclist, but still weights about 60lbs too many. So now what???

Back to the basics.  I have gone back to eating like I in training in Judo. No junk. No crap. No alcohol. Such a simple solution means that I am getting leaner.  A coworker of mine is calling me the shrinking man, because there is less of me all the time. 

Translate that to being on the bike and it means that every pound I lose will help me push harder and faster. Remember, cycling never gets easier, you just get faster. Faster on the hills, faster in the century rides and able to follow the mantra of “Go easy when it’s hard, and hard when it’s easy”. (Up until now, it has been hard no matter what). Willpower got me through last year, with “EPIC” ratings on Strava through many of my rides. They weren’t particularly fast, but I pushed hard enough to keep in the red for the majority of the ride.

Weight loss so far? About 17lbs. About 30% of the way to my goal. The road is long, but the destination is worth the struggle of the journey.

Leave a Reply

